St John Cymru Wales

First Aid saves lives

Learn First Aid
Donate Now
Donate Now
facebook twitter


St John Wales is governed by a board of Trustees (Chapter)

Dan Clayton-Jones OBE

As Prior he presides over St John Cymru Wales and its members. Mr Clayton-Jones is the Consul for Canada in Wales, Deputy Chair of NHMF and Chairman of the Wales Committee of the Heritage Lottery Fund. He is former Chairman of Prime Cymru, one of the Prince of Wales Group of Charities. He was Secretary of the Historic Houses Association in Wales for twelve years and is a founding life member of the Historic Gardens Trust. He has been the Vice-Chairman of the National Trust in Wales and was the Chairman of The National Botanic Gardens of Wales. He was St John Wales'  Almoner - guiding the charity's fundraising department - before being appointed as Chancellor, a role he fulfilled for six years.


Dr Bob Broughton OBE 

The role of the Chancellor is to exercise responsibility and accountability through the Priory Chapter, for the efficient running of the Priory for Wales, with the assistance of the Principal Priory Officers, the Chief Executive and his Senior Management Team.

Lord Aberdare
Bailiff of St Davids 

This is an honorary appointment reserved for a senior member of the Order in Wales.

The Bailiff will perform such duties as appropriate to his rank as may be requested by the Prior from time to time.

Sir Paul Williams OBE

The Registrar is appointed at the pleasure of the Prior for Wales for a maximum of six years, which can be reviewed after three.  The Registrar supervises the due recording of the names of Members of the Order on the Roll of the Priory, and reports to Chapter on the loss or death or otherwise, promotions and admissions, and any other duties as requested by the Prior.

David Jenkins
Vice Chancellor

The Vice Chancellor deputises for the Chancellor and assists in ensuring the implementation of all policies subject to the adjudication of Priory Chapter. 

Stephen Hughes

The Treasurer reports to the Priory Chapter and Priory Council on all financial matters. Together with the Chancellor, sign financial accounts on behalf of the Priory and is a member of Priory Chapter.


Derek Howell
Deputy Treasurer

The Deputy Treasurer provides advice and assistance to the Treasurer, together with the Director of Finance and Chief Executive.

Gwyneth Rees

The Hospitaller provides the link between St John Cymru Wales and the St John of Jerusalem Eye Hospital. Miss Rees is chairperson of the committee which decides on matters affecting fundraising for the hospital.

Robert Croydon

The Seneschal is the principal adviser to the Priory on all property matters. He maintains a comprehensive survey of properties and their legal title.


Position Vacant

The Almoner is the Principal Adviser to the Priory Chapter in Fundraising issues.  He/She oversees, advises and leads the National Fundraising and Events programme.  He/She also networks with Prinicipal Fundraisers on behalf of the Priory.

Larry Petterson MBE
Lead Trustee for St John Councils

The Lead Trustee for St John Councils works alongside the lead Trustees for Training, Youth and Operations building strong links between the Priory Chapter and the Councils.



Peter Baker
Lead Trustee for Operations

The lead Trustee will oversee the Operations Division, working closely with the Director of Operations and will represent the Divisions/Regions at Chapter. The lead Trustee for Operations will chair regular management meetings of the Operations Divisions involving both the full time staff and Commissioners.

Duncan Cantlay
Lead Trustee for Youth

The lead Trustee for Youth will take a direct interest in the Division, acting both as a figurehead, as a support to the Director of Youth and staff and as an advocate at meetings of Chapter. The lead Trustee for Youth will chair regular meetings of the Youth Division involving both full time staff and volunteers from the regions of Wales. The Youth Division, via its Director, and supported by the lead Trustee for Youth.

Roy Noble OBE
Lead Trustee for Training 

The Lead Trustee for Training takes direct interest in the Training Division, acting both as an advocate at meetings of Chapter. The Lead Trustee for Training will chair regular management meetings of the Training Division involving both full time staff and volunteers from across Wales. 


His Hon Huw Morgan Daniel CVO

Commander of Ysbyty Ifan

The Commander of Ysbyty Ifan acts as the Order link between the National Headquarters and North Wales and is a member of Priory Council. He is President of the St John Council for North West Wales and Her Majesty's Lord Lieutenant for Gwynedd.




Peter Vaughan QPM

Independent Trustee

As a member of the Chapter Board of Trustees of St John Cymru Wales, responsible for the overall governance and strategic direction of the charity, developing the organisation’s aims, objectives and goals in accordance with the governing document, legal and regulatory guidelines.


Prof. Donna Mead OBE

Independent Trustee & Chair of the Healthcare Governance Committee

Prof. Mead is Dean of the Faculty of Life Sciences and Education at the University of South Wales and, as a member of the Chapter Board of Trustees of St John Cymru Wales, she is responsible for the overall governance and strategic direction of the charity, developing the organisation’s aims, objectives and goals in accordance with the governing document, legal and regulatory guidelines. 


The Trustees oversee how St John Wales is working on a daily basis and can be contacted via:
Phone: 029 2044 9646
Fax: 029 2044 9645

© Copyright St John - Cymru - Wales 2011. All rights reserved.

St John Cymru Wales
Priory House,
Beignon Close,
Ocean Way,
CF24 5PB

Charity number 250523
Company number 5071073
Registered in England & Wales
029 2044 9629
029 2044 9639
029 2044 9600
Volunteer Recruitment
General Enquiries